Soni Pitts, community mediator

Hey, guess what? I made it onto the July calendar for the mediation center. So looks like yours truly is finally going to be given a chance to try and take over the world! help people solve their disputes in a calm and positive manner.

Didn’t end up on the August calendar, which is just fine. I have no idea what I’ll be doing in August anyway. This way, I don’t have to worry about scheduling around activities that don’t even exist yet.

Truth be told, I’m nervous as hell about this. In the wee hours of the morning, the fretful monkey part of my brain runs around wringing its hands and trying to prod the rest of me into canceling the whole thing and just spending the rest of my life sleeping in and being responsible for as little as possible. After all, that’s the best way to ensure that nothing is ever your fault. And I must admit that sometimes, das monkey, she can be very persuasive. Especially at 3am.

So far, I’m holding out though. I mean really…I’m just going to be sitting between two warring parties who quite possibly hate each other’s guts, dealing with issues that both disagree so strongly about that they have resorted to working with perfect strangers in order to work them out (and this has often gone on long enough that there are actual legal proceedings in place involving the disputants) and helping them create decisions that could seriously impact their lives and relationships forever.

What could possibly go wrong?

Technorati: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

