Just the facts…

School will be out the 19th, which means that both of my assignments will also be ending on that date (for this year, anyway. I’ll be right back at it come January). This also means that by the time I clock out of our Homework Club Holiday Party at around 5:30 pm Tues afternoon, I need to have the following tied up in a bow and ready to go to the office on Wednesday:

Morning site:
List of all volunteers and hours served, plus the complete list of students they’ve served.

Afternoon site:
Copy of the roster, attendance for the year to date, copies of all the sign-in sheets for students, a list of all volunteers and their hours served/work done, in addition to copies of our snack calendar which tracks what we served when (for resupply info).

I think there may be more, but that’s all I can remember off the top of my head. Luckily, there’s a meeting tomorrow so I can confirm all of this and make sure I’m turning in everything that needs to be turned in. In triplicate, if necessary.

Luckily, I’m an obsessive record keeper (if you want something detailed and fiddly done right, give it to the chick with the borderline OCD diagnosis).

I’m one of those folks whose first thought in response to nearly any challenge is “I’m gonna need to set up a spreadsheet.” And I am thinking it with glee, do you hear. Glee!

I get all shivery at the thought of setting up an organizational system, often coming up with something that is way over-powered for the need. As a result, a lot of my organizational systems resemble the proverbial brick shit-house with stained-glass windows – an immoderate level of architectural extravagance, given what’s going on inside.

For example, when report cards come out we’re supposed to make copies of them to give to the office. Well, it just so happens that part of our new equipment when we started up was a nice little multi-function scanner/copier/fax/printer. So instead of simply making hard copies, I just naturally and without much thought scanned each report into the computer, then printed it out.

When my supervisor called for them, I asked her if she wanted the hard copies, a disk with the electronic copies, or one of each. She was incredulous (in a good way) that I had both. On the other hand, I was a bit disappointed that the computer doesn’t have scan-to-text software, so I could have the original scanned images translated into text documents for searchability.

I’m such a geek.

Technorati: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

