Synchronicity

I don’t know why it happens, but some days the kids are just holy terrors and other days they’re all but perfect. Luckily, today was one of the latter occasions.

It’s like a perfect storm – usually they either all come in with an attitude and sass, or they all come in acting like bad behavior would never cross their sweet, innocent little minds. I’m not sure what the catalyst is – they all attend different schools, are in different grades, are different sexes and have different personalities. And yet, like a school of fish, they all turn on a dime and they all turn together. Weird.

So, anyway, like I said, it was a good day. And we had our first “regular” volunteer today – one of the teacher’s assistants at the school I work who is coming on Weds to help two sisters who are in the club with their homework. Our supervisor was on site today, as well (she sorta rotates through the homework clubs during the week to lend a hand and also so that we have an ongoing, regular contact with “the office”). I’m so glad they behaved themselves today. Between that, an extra hand in the form of our supervisor and a real, live, breathing volunteer on the premises (who also happens to be an old friend of our supervisor – score!), it made handling the kids a breeze.

Also, I got to do some volunteer coordinator-y stuff by calling the references for a recent applicant. Very cool…I’m feeling it all productive and stuff.. All in all, I managed to get off of work with enough energy to tackle the odds and ends I have to do tonight. Spiffy.

So, I think I’ll go do them now, before I lose the flow. Ta!

Technorati: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

