A and B, or C. Not A and B and C. Not A or B and C. Not A and B and X…

You wouldn’t think it would be such a confusing choice. Most days, we have two choices for snack – a main dish (and maybe a side), such as spaghetti and green beans – or, if you don’t like that, you can have a cereal bar. Simple, right?

Apparently you don’t hang around kids much.

Today’s snack was breakfast burritos and rice, or cereal bar. Easy choice. But for nearly 45 minutes we fielded questions from the kids continually asking if they could have a burrito and cereal bar, or rice and burrito…but I didn’t like the burrito, so can I get a cereal bar to go with my rice and half-eaten and mangled wrap? Or, how about now that I’ve finished my cereal bar, I get some rice? Or can I just have rice…but get extra cookies later, because I didn’t eat a burrito? AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Some days it’s just cereal bars, period, and you would think that it would simplify things. Heh. See, “Apparently…” above.

Dunno about you, but I’m thinking that if the President needs some help at the negotiation table in the Middle East, maybe I could just send him a few of my biggest wheedlers. Either they’d eventually hit on some combination of options (or non-options, as the case may be) that would make the whole thing fall into place, or they’d drive everyone into signing treaties just to get away from the whole mess.

Hey, it’s a thought. I’m just sayin’.

Technorati: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

