The rollercoaster, she go up and she go down. With shoulder updates.

Morning – good. Afternoon – not so much. Evening – a draw.

So, this morning I basically spent my time doing pretty much the same thing I do every day – updating student/tutor records, sending out parent notifications, yada yada. Nothing new, nothing bad, nothing unpleasant.

This afternoon, it all went pretty well until the older kids got there and then it all went to heck quite quickly. In the end, we ended up having to send one student home because she kept behaving disrespectfully to us when we asked her not to do something, to the point of being unmanageable. Thing is, she didn’t even believe it at first, just sat down and huffed a bit until I told her that, btw, signing out and going home wasn’t a request, it was an instruction. Boy, was that an unhappy moment. Hopefully, it’ll be enough of a deterrent to forestall further issues. We’re having some real problems with respectful behavior, especially with the older kids (although the one who got sent home wasn’t one of them), and it’s something I’ve got to address sooner rather than later because it’s just getting out of hand.

I don’t want to have to put my foot down, punishment-wise, but to be honest I think this is a lot of boundary-pushing to see what they can get away with and they’ve all pretty much reached that place and then a bit. So I guess it’s my move. I’m just not real good at confrontation, though, so this is a real challenge for me. I’m more of an “ignore it and maybe it’ll go away” kinda person, which, of course, is sooooo not going to happen here. *sigh*

Update on the shoulder – I finally got through the tangle web of workman’s comp red tape and got a doctor to look at the shoulder after work. Turns out it’s almost certainly the result of a tearing injury when I was installing those computers way back when, and he’s recommending a few weeks of physical therapy and no lifting of things 10 lbs and over for some time (and not more than occasionally lifting more than 3 lbs). On the downside, it sucks to know I really have messed myself up. On the upside, my using it these past months hasn’t been doing it any harm. So, at least I know what it is and can relax about blindly destroying my most valuable joint (my right shoulder is directly connected to my keyboard and mouse, you see) and just get on with pushing through the pain during the healing process. Which is more than I knew before, anyway.

Technorati: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

