2001 Build-a-thon reflections

2001 Build-A-Thon group picture

Wow. Going over these notes really brought back some memories that I didn’t even know I had. It was a great experience, one of the best times I ever had. And one of the last group events I did as an Americorps member, until our exit retreat we held at the beach at the end of our service.

Anyone who’s ever been to a mass build for HFH knows what I’m talking about when I say you make more dear friends in a shorter period of time that you will anywere else on earth, outside of a natural disaster or other group emergency. We had a group prayer every morning, lots of joking, ribbing and bonding during the day and some serious playtime afterward. All I can say is that if you’ve never done it, do it. It’s good for what ails you.

The photo is from the end of the build. Wish I had a higher res version, so I could blow it up. No idea where I am in this pic. Maybe I’ll email Peter and see if he still has the original and can email me a better copy.

, , , ,

Leave a Reply

