Why it’s worth it

Wandering Sparkle writes about her time in Americorps and how it changed her life. I have to say that I agree with her assessment of the life-changing aspect of Americorps, and I share some of her experiences (the shift from service as an activity to service as a lifestyle), and although I didn’t have the ethnicity paradigm shift she did the changes I experienced were just as profound and deeply affecting.

She writes:

To quote Gloria Anzaldua, “In attempting to work out a synthesis, the self has added a third element which is greater than the sum of its severed parts.” That experience took me apart, changed me around, and put me back together again, so that I will never be the same.

Amen to that.

Technorati: ,

Leave a Reply

